League, Mogo among regional finalists for Ernst & Young’s Entrepreneur of the Year awards

Ernst & Young has named the regional finalists across several categories for its EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2017 awards program.

The awards program celebrates and recognizes entrepreneurs who are building and leading successful, dynamic businesses across Canada. The finalists are split into the regions of Québec, Ontario, Prairies, Pacific, and Atlantic, and further split into categories according to company vertical (such as FinTech and consumer tech).

An independent panel of judges will name winners in each category, and one of the category winners will take the title of overall winners for each region. That winner will then compete with winners from each region for the Canadian Entrepreneur Of The Year title.

The Canadian winner will go on to compete with winners from more than 50 countries for the title of EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year, in June 2018.

The non-exhaustive list (full list can be found here) of finalists includes:


B2B Products and Services

Adam Belsher, Jad Saliba, Magnet Forensics (Waterloo)

Digital Media and Marketing

Wehuns Tan, Flipp (Toronto)

Christopher Reid, Sortable (Kitchener)

Emerging Entrepreneur

Michael Serbinis, League (Toronto)

Ray Reddy, Ritual (Toronto)

Justin Thouin, LowestRates.ca (Toronto)

Enterprise Technology

John Sicard, Kinaxis (Ottawa)

Jahan Ali, MobileLIVE (Richmond Hill)

Financial Services

Michael Garrity, Financeit (Toronto)

Corey Gross, Sensibill (Toronto)

Kirk Simpson, Wave (Toronto)


B2B Products and Services

Mathieu Beauchesne, Olivier Marcotte, Nucleom (Quebec)

Emerging Entrepreneur

JF Côté, District M (Montreal)

Fabio Zeppilli, Joseph Zeppilli, Bad Monkey Popcorn (Montreal)

Life Sciences

Clarissa Desjardins, Clementia Pharmaceuticals (Montreal)


B2B Products and Services

Amin Poonja, EcoPest (Edmonton)

B2C Products and Services

David Baker, ThinkShift (Winnipeg)

Emerging Technology

Eric Boisjoli, Yvan Boisjoli, Stefan Maynard, Jason Myers, Bold Commerce (Winnipeg)

Brock Murray, Katipult (Calgary)

Mark Malekoff, Brian Tiedemann, Nakoda Energy Services and Thermal Intelligence (Grand Prairie)


Dale Beard, Intelliwave Technologies (Leduc County)


Emerging Entrepreneur

Stephanie Holmes-Winton, The Money Finder (Halifax)

Information Technology

Mitch Manuel, Vimsoft (Dieppe)

Technology and Communications

Saar Fabrikant, B4Checkin (Halifax)

Kevin Rodgers, Nautel (Hacketts Cove)

Mario Thériault, ShiftCentral (Moncton)

Kris McNeil, Solace Power (Mount Pearl)


Emerging Technology

Brian Paes-Braga, Lithium X (VancouveR)

Financial Services

Dave Feller, Mogo (Vancouver)

Michael Wendland, Refresh Financial (Kelowna)

Hamed Shahbazi, TIO Networks (Vancouver)


Jack Newton, Clio (Burnaby)

Morgan Carey, Real Estate Webmasters (Nanaimo)

Rick Perreault, Unbounce (Vancouver)


Ryan Peterson, Trent Shumay, Finger Food Studios (Port Coquitlam)

Michael Plotnikoff, Michael Priest, Lite Access Technologies (Langley)

Scott Phillips, StarFish Medical (Victoria)


Amira Zubairi

Amira Zubairi is a staff writer and content creator at BetaKit with a strong interest in Canadian startup, business, and legal tech news. In her free time, Amira indulges in baking desserts, working out, and watching legal shows.

0 replies on “League, Mogo among regional finalists for Ernst & Young’s Entrepreneur of the Year awards”