BC Tech Association announces 2018 Technology Impact Award winners

The BC Tech Association has announced the winners of its 2018 Technology Impact Awards (TIAs), which recognize companies contributing to the success of the province’s tech ecosystem.

The winners were announced on June 1 at the Technology Impact Awards Gala. This year marks the award ceremony’s 25th anniversary.

“Each year we are blown away by the accomplishments in our growing community, and the visionary companies and individuals who are paving the way forward in tech,” said Jill Tipping, president and CEO of BC Tech Association. “This year we had an incredible group of finalists who impressed the judges with the quality and diversity of their achievements. From law to natural resource management to retail, this year’s winners demonstrate that technological advancement is the bedrock for industry success and positive social change. We congratulate all the winners and finalists on their contributions towards building a strong, vibrant future for BC and the world we share.”

The winners of the 2018 TIAs include:

  • Company of the Year: ACL, which provides SaaS solutions that help governments quantify risk, reduce fraud, and optimize performance.
  • Person of the Year: Judi Hess, CEO of Vancouver-based Copperleaf, which provides decision analytics to companies managing their infrastructure.
  • Startup of the Year: Klue, which has developed a platform that combines information shared by team members with bot-collected intel from across the web to provide sales teams with intelligence on competitors.
  • Community Engagement Award: IQmetrix, which provides a cloud-based retail management solution for North America’s wireless industry.
  • Excellence in Technology Adoption: Teck, which is a resource company that focuses on responsible mining and mineral development.
  • Excellence in Technology Innovation: Finn AI, which develops AI chatbots for banks
  • Growth Company of the Year: Buyatab, which provides online gift card infrastructure solutions for medium and large-sized businesses.
  • Tech Culture of the Year: Clio, a cloud-based legal practice management platform that aims to ease the processes of time tracking, billing, administration, and collaboration for law firms.
  • Bill Thompson Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Gerri Sinclair, who is the founder of NCompass Labs, and the first woman in tech to have a successful exit when she sold her company to Microsoft in 2001.
  • Spirit of BC Tech Award: Ayogo, which creates digital health apps aimed at helping patients obtain better health outcomes.

Past recipients of the BC Tech TIAs include STEMCELL Technologies, Victory Square Labs, and Trulioo.


Amira Zubairi

Amira Zubairi is a staff writer and content creator at BetaKit with a strong interest in Canadian startup, business, and legal tech news. In her free time, Amira indulges in baking desserts, working out, and watching legal shows.

0 replies on “BC Tech Association announces 2018 Technology Impact Award winners”